Department of Public Works

DPW Updates


Phone: (802) 773-1813
Fax: (802) 775-3947

P. O. Box 969
52 Washington Street
Rutland, VT  05702-0969

COVID-19 and Work Safety

COVID-19 survives for up to 14 days in wastewater so ever time our employees have to pull apart equipment to keep sewage from backing up into homes or onto streets they are putting themselves at risk.

The ONLY things that should ever be flushed are the 3 P's - Poop, Pee and toilet Paper. Disinfecting wipes and so-called "fulshable" wipes should NEVER be flushed down the toilet - please throw them in the trash.

Here is a picture of the wipes that were recently removed from a plugged pump at our wastewater treatment plant. Please help spread the word and keep our workers safe!

Mission Statement

To provide courteous, responsive and dedicated public works services to the citizens of Rutland City.

The City of Rutland Department of Public Works is responsible for the day to day maintenance and operation of city streets, sanitary sewer collection mains (including the Alpine Pipeline), storm sewer system, water distribution mains, protection of the City Watershed, the operation and maintenance of the Wastewater Treatment Plant and its associated pumping stations, the reservoir, water filtration and water storage facilities.  In addition, the Department works closely with the City's Building and Zoning, Emergency Management, Attorney's Office, Police, Fire and Recreation departments, as required, in both emergency and routine situations.  The Department also provides technical and logistical support to the Rutland Redevelopment Authority and the Downtown Partnership.  The Public Works Department responds to citizen concerns and complaints on a daily basis and emergency situations on a 24-hour on call basis.

Citizens are reminded to contact the Police Department if an emergency situation arises when the Department's business office is closed at (802) 773-1816.


Bob Protivansky, Commissioner of Public Works

Gail Gorruso, Business Manager

Bob Protivansky, Wastewater Division Manager & Chief Operator

Thomas Garofano, Water Division Manager & Chief Operator

Dan MacIntyre, Highway Operations Supervisor

Theodore Gillen III, E.I., Associate City Engineer

Peter Kelley, Engineer Technician

Cindy Moyer, Accounting Clerk

Kelsie Boudreau, Administrative Office Clerk




Related Topics